Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 16th, 2007

About one month ago, my church had a flyer in the program regarding World Vision’s “Step Into Africa”.  Someone showed a video and expressed the importance of being aware….blah, blah, blah.  For some reason THIS TIME, it didn’t fade into the background for me.  I wanted to help in any way that I could and I really wanted to be a part.  So, my small group signed up to volunteer on Saturday night for a four hour block.  I had no idea what to really expect just to perhaps hear the story of a child who was growing up in Africa in the midst of the AIDS pandemic. 

I will not share too much detail, because it should be something that you experience for yourself, however, there is a genuine desire on World Vision’s part to realize how crucial this is for our world’s survival that we understand what these children are going through and also the future of our planet in the wake of what AIDS is behind.  I will say that if you do go to this exhibit, the “clinic” in particular had special meaning for me because that is where I volunteered last night….it can be a huge turning point for so many children living amongst the infected.

After being through the experience myself, volunteering made it all the more meaningful.  People from all walks of life came through the church doors yesterday evening and I got to see them sign in, and also leave with a better understanding of the hardships that they seldom think about.  I honestly thought I had seen and heard it all until I walked in the path of a six year old girl who never knew her father and whose mother died of AIDS. 

The “Step Into Africa” experience is continuing its tour into December 2007 with stops all over the United States.  Here in Michigan, they will finish out their 4 day stay Monday, September 17.  Their hours at Huron Hills Baptist Church tomorrow (Monday) are 8:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.

Be salt and light.  Do Something.

STEP INTO AFRICA AND SEE.

0175-mod.jpg

Read Full Post »